Literature and the Land: Reading and Writing for Environmental Literacy by Emma Rous

512B48BZV4L._SX373_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgHeinemann is one of my favorite educational presses and I buy a lot of their books; I thought I had a good handle on their backlist.  Then, about a year ago, someone mentioned to me that they had published a guide to nature writing in the English class a few years ago.  A bit of digging let me to Literature and the Land: Reading and Writing for Environmental Literacy by Emma Rous.  

I’m not sure if the book is still in print but there are definitely used copies available (that’s how I got a copy).  If it’s not still in print I certainly wish they would bring it back!  Emma Rous, an English teacher in New England, shares her amazing ideas for integrating nature into English class in this book and it’s perfect for our new CCSS/NGSS-centered teaching world.

When I read the book the first time I was constantly stopping to flag pages.  Today, it’s on a special (easy to reach) shelf in my classroom and it’s one of my most-used resources.  Often teachers tell me they want to get their students outside and they want to collaborate with their science colleagues but they just don’t know how to do it.  This book solves that problem.  Full of practical ideas that teachers can implement immediately in their classroom, Literature and the Land: Reading and Writing for Environmental Literacy by Emma Rous. is a must-have resource for any teacher who wants students to value nature.  There are book lists, writing assignment ideas, project-based learning ideas, and much more within the pages of this book.  I highly recommend tracking down a copy from a used book source.  It’s my favorite professional resource right now!

One thought on “Literature and the Land: Reading and Writing for Environmental Literacy by Emma Rous

Leave a Reply

