Goosechase- An App that Gets Students Outside

This past spring, my friend Colby Sharp shared an article his wife, Alaina Sharp, wrote about an app called Goosechase.  Goosechase is a scavenger hunt platform that uses screenshots, photos, and videos in place of paper and pen. After reading Alaina’s article, I knew I had to try this app in my English class.  When I shared my idea with Mike, my biology colleague, he jumped on board, too.  So at the end of the year we found ourselves designing a biology and English exam review scavenger hunt.

Goosechase allows you to create missions and add them to a game.  They do have an educator platform, which I am a big fan of.  Mike and I looked through the mission bank and ended up editing a few of the missions.  Then we developed our own and added them.  In the end, we came up with 26 missions for students to complete, in teams, during a combined bio/English period (2 hours):

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 11.36.25 PM

This is just a portion of our final game.

Guys, it took a bit of advance set-up (the kids need to download the app and sign up for a free account), but the game was amazing.  I think it was one of the best activities we did all year.  The kids absolutely loved it! They were running around, submitting their missions through the app, and Mike and I kept track of everything via the app.  We could see each submission as it came in and determine if the students earned points for their submission.  The students could see their score and they could track their competitors via the leaderboard.  It was great!

Here’s an example of an English-related submission:

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 11.40.32 PM

It’s a poem, written by the students on the spot and posted in a public place on campus.  You can use the scavenger hunt to encourage students to write poetry or prose, find examples of vocabulary words, create art, and even draw connections between the natural world and the books they are reading.  I challenged students to find something in nature that could symbolize the theme of a work we read together and was blown away by what they came up with.  Competition breeds creativity, I guess!

I loved that the students were reviewing for our exam, thinking about science and English, and spending time outside.  And it was so easy to set up!  I highly recommend the app and I’d love to hear about your experiences using Goosechase.

Need some help?  I wrote up a lesson plan:

Goosechase: An Online, Outdoors Scavenger Hunt

Leave a Reply

